Clock Tower Ales is located in the second Wasco County Courthouse built in 1883 and home to the last public hanging in 1905 (wish we had a photo of that). Join us in Historic Downtown The Dalles, Oregon for fine pub grub, live entertainment and over 30 craft beers on tap (cider, local wines and a full bar also). We have banquet and private party rooms available, also a great deck with wicked gas flamed lights right in downtown to enjoy.
The Baldwin Saloon is a favorite restaurant and gathering place in The Dalles, Oregon. We make everything from scratch, from the breads and pastas, all the way to the twelve desserts – even the ice cream! We offer a diverse menu that includes hand-cut choice steaks, fresh seafood, 13 different salads, fresh chicken dishes, homemade soups, fresh ground hamburgers, unique sandwiches and daily specials. We serve only Northwest wines with house pours using local wineries. Choose from our great wine selection or order something from our turn-of-the-century bar. It’s a Taste of History!
Cargo—Lewis & Clark Expedition: A unique exhibit focusing on the extensive equipment and supplies carried on their perilous journey.
Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area: Interactive displays bring to life the cataclysmic volcanoes, raging floods, and 10,000 years of cultural history, not to be missed.
Wasco County Past and Present: From missionaries, cavalry, and settlers to modern sustainable agriculture, explore what was once the largest county in the nation.
Ice Age Exhibit: Featuring a life-size, 13-foot Columbian Mammoth; you will learn about mega mammals, human migration, and Ice Age theories.
The Sunshine Mill has a long, colorful history. The Sunshine Mill has milled wheat on this property for more than 130 years, and was the first building in The Dalles to have electricity, powered by a Thomas Edison Motor which can still be seen in The Mill. It is also the only designated skyscraper in The Columbia River Gorge.
The Sunshine Biscuit Company once owned this property and the wheat milled here was used to make everyone's favorite cracker, the Cheez-It! The Sunshine Mill now houses Quenett and Copa Di Vino wineries owned and operated by James and Molli Martin, both from The Dalles. Quenett Winery released its first vintage in 2002 and burst onto the wine scene with its outstanding vintages of Sangiovese and Zinfandel. The word Quenett comes from the journals of Lewis and Clark, who camped along luscious and fruitful banks of the Columbia River and learned from the local Indians that the word Quenett meant "Steelhead.
A great French Cafe....yum!